Seven Chakras: The Basics

Posted on August 17 2023

Seven Chakras: The Basics

Often times here at Moon Lotus Rising we refer to how crystals resonate with different chakras, or we will say that certain chakras do certain things.

But what exactly are the seven chakras, and why are they important?

Chakras are seven energy centers that reside within each of us. They connect to our physical, emotional, and spiritual energy, and when one is unbalanced or “blocked” it can show up in physical and emotional symptoms.  When they are aligned, balanced, and “unblocked”, it is much easier for you to live a prosperous and fulfilling life, connecting to your fullest potential.

The Root Chakra, Muladhara, is the foundation of the seven chakras, located at the base of the spine. Imagine it like a bright red ball of swirling light. The Root Chakra is your sense of safety, security, and stability in life. It connects you to your physical, and your emotional body. Balancing this first chakra helps you balance all of the other chakras. Think of Muladhara like the roots of a tree. Without it balanced, the rest of the tree (the other chakras) will be much weaker and cannot strongly grow.

For more information on balancing the Root chakra, click on the image above.

The next chakra is the Sacral Chakra, Svadhisthana, which is located a few inches below the navel in your pelvic area. Imagine it like a swirling ball of orange light. This chakra is one of the most important for your overall well being. This chakra is the hub of creativity, passion, emotional expression, intimacy, connection to yourself and others, and being in the moment. This chakra also helps with setting the boundaries needed for the best relationship  yourself and others.

Need more information on the Sacral Chakra? Click on the image above!

The next chakra is the Solar Plexus Chakra, Manipura, which is located right above the navel. It is represented by a bright yellow that can be visualized as a swirling orb of light. This chakra is the seat of your power. It is associated with self-confidence, personal  power, purpose, and self-esteem. Balancing this chakra can help shift your perspective on life and how it interacts with you. If out of balance, you may not fully believe in your truest potential or the innate power you have to create the life you desire.

Want to know more? Click on the image above!

The Heart Chakra, Anahata, sits at the center of your seven chakras at the center of your chest. It bridges the lower three and upper three chakras and is often represented by a spiraling green orb. This is the Chakra of Emotions, Love, and Self-Love. If it is out of balance, you may find it hard to express yourself, love yourself, or love others. You may be overly manipulative or feel like you are unworthy. There are many different ways an imbalance can affect you, but if balanced, you will be able to feel and express the kindness, love, and compassion that you deserve.

Want to know more? Click on the image above!

Moving into the upper chakras, the Throat Chakra, Vishudda, is all about Communication and Expression. Imagine a vibrant blue swirling light in front of and behind your throat. When balanced, it assists with clear communication, creativity, confidence in speaking to others, and connection to Truth. An imbalanced Throat Chakra can cause insecurity, introversion, and a fear of speaking or judgment.

For more information, click on the image above!

The Third Eye Chakra, Ajna, sits between the brow and is the center of intuition, insight, and wisdom. This can be visualized as a purple or indigo spiral. Some people think the Third Eye Chakra focuses solely on psychic abilities, however it is more than just that. It allows for a connection and understanding with yourself on all levels. When balanced, you will be able to trust in your own intuition and tune out worries, fears, and other overwhelming thoughts. When there is an imbalance, you may feel stuck in life, unsure of what your next steps are or your purpose.

For more information on how to balance this chakra, click on the image above.

The Crown Chakra is the seventh and final chakra and sits above the top of the head. It is the highest chakra that can be visualized as a white lotus. This is the chakra of Enlightenment. When it, and the other six chakras, are balanced, you will feel a great sense of harmony, self-awareness, vitality, and purpose. This chakra is known to connect you to the divine and great universal consciousness.

For more information, click on the image above.


Best of luck on your journey!

Moon Lotus Rising

More Posts


Leave a comment

All blog comments are checked prior to publishing